Citizen of the Year

Citizen of the Year - Now Open

The Citizen of the Year  Awards reward and recognise individuals and organisations that have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, and/or given an outstanding service over a number of years, to a local community over and above normal employment duties.

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.


  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Building a Better Community Award

Eligibility Criteria

  • Nominees must be Australian citizens (except for Award for Active Citizenship)
  • Awards will not be granted posthumously
  • Self nominations will not be accepted
  • Nominees must be at least 16 years of age in the year of the award presentation
  • Nominees for the category of Young Citizen of the Year must be 30 years of age or less on 26 January in the year of the award presentation
  • Sitting state and federal politicians, current vice-regal officers and current elected members of council are not eligible
  • Retired politicians, elected members and vice-regal officers will be considered for work undertaken in addition to their official duties
  • Unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent years
  • Groups of people, organisations or couples will not normally be eligible for Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year, though in exceptional cases the selection panels reserve the right to consider such nominations.
  • Both individuals and organisations should be considered for the Community Event of the Year as this recognises the organising body or committee responsible for the event
  • Absolutely NO weight is given to the number of times a person or organisation is nominated
  • Previous recipients of the award categories may receive the award in the future however the work that this person or organisation made in receiving the original award may not be considered.
  • Councils may choose to re-submit nominations that do not receive an award for future consideration in subsequent years of the program


Council calls for nominations from community groups and individuals.  Nominations are submitted using the form provided.

All nominations received before the close-off date are considered by Council's Community Grants and Awards Selection Committee.

Awards will be presented as part of Council's Australia Day celebrations on 26 January 2021.

Previous Berri Barmera Council Community Award Winners

List of recipients from 1983 to 2018